National Merit Scholar Semifinalists Named!

National Merit Scholar Semifinalists Named!
National Merit Scholar

The National Merit Scholarship Program, now in its 64th year, announced their list of Semifinalists and 63 students  from Los Gatos-Saratoga Union High School District were recognized.  Each year, approximately 1.5 million students participate in this program, by taking the Preliminary SAT (PSAT) and only the top one percent receives this recognition.  The PSAT measures critical reading, math problem-solving and writing skills.

In spring 2020, these Semifinalists continue the competition towards obtaining one of the 7,600 National Merit Scholarships, totaling more than $31 million.  To become a Finalist, a Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record and SAT scores and be recommended by their high school principal. Ninety percent of Semifinalists become Finalists and more than 50 percent of Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the title “Merit Scholar.”  The final application includes a student essay and information about their participation and leadership in school and community activities. 

This rigorous process showcases some of the best students in the nation.  LGSUHSD is proud of these Semifinalists and wishes them much success in this competition and future endeavors: 

LGSUHSD Semifinalists:  Eman A. Ahmad, Bhrugu Bharathi, Surbhi Bhat, George C. Bian, Leo H. Cao, Adrienne B. Chan, Kiran A. Chandrasekher, Allen Y. Chen, Jason Hong, Bradley Hsu, Rishi R. Jain, Anthony Jiang, Riya K. Kalra, Kayla N. Katakis, Sabrina H. Kim, Ujjwal Krishnamurthi, Reya M. Kumar, Ritika Kuppam, Christine J. Lee, Lauren S. Lee, Victor Lee, Cindy Li,  Connie Liang, Nevin Liang, Raeshon E. Lim, Katherine Lu, Mathew Luo, Jeffrey Ma, Stephanie J. Ma, Armina Mayya, Liam S. McHugh, Arya Mididaddi, Sanmati Nakil, Aubrey L. Nguyen, Anna K. Novoselov, Ronak Pai, Anishi Patel, Elise V. Phan, Anoushka Rao, Rohan Rao, Sanjana Ravi, Aditya K. Reddy, Daniel G. Robinson, Adhit P. Sankaran, Ethan S. Sarnevesht, Dhruv H. Shah, Mira Sharma, Nikhil Sridhar, Naren Srinivasan, Sandhya M. Sundaram, Howard L. Tang, Michael W. Tang, Nandini S. Thakur, Blake J. Thomas, Alex Wang, Brandon Wang, Elaine Y. Wang, Christina E. Wong, Albert Xiao, Christina M. Xiao, Jeffrey Xu, Joshua B. Yoon, Brian C. Zhu