National Merit Scholar Finalists

Congratulations National Merit Scholar Finalists

The National Merit Scholarship Program released this year’s list of Finalists and we are proud to report that 31 LGSUHSD Semifinalists recognized in October went on to become Finalists.  The PSAT (Preliminary SAT), used to qualify students for participation, measures critical reading, math problem-solving and writing skills.  Since the program’s inception in 1955, NMSC has recognized over 3 million students and provided more than 396,000 scholarships worth over $1.5 billion. Past recipients include Blues legend, Elvin Bishop, Roger Y. Tsien, 2008 Nobel Prize winner in Chemistry, Bill Gates, and Jerry Greenfield, the co-founder of Ben and Jerry’s. 

To become a Finalist, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements, including completing an application, having a consistently very high academic record, writing an essay, being endorsed and recommended by a school official, and taking the SAT® and earning a score that confirms the PSAT/NMSQT performance.

Congratulations to the following LGSUHSD students, qualifying as finalists in the 2019 competition for National Merit Scholarships:


  • Nirav Adunuthula
  • Victor Wei Chen, Jr.
  • Francesca L. Chu
  • Zeeshaan Chunawala
  • Ana Cismaru
  • Elaine Y. Fan
  • Eoin G. Frankel
  • Michael J. Hench
  • Laura E. Herron
  • Jamie Hong
  • Ryan M. Judy
  • Ethan Y. Ko
  • Alexandra S. Li
  • Thomas Lim
  • Hannah J. Lin
  • Victor Z. Liu
  • Nathan C. Luk
  • Carolyn Ma
  • Sirisha Munukutla
  • Kiran Rachamallu
  • Yashwanth N. Rachepalli
  • Esperanza S. Rozas
  • Blake A. Smith
  • Justin W. Sun
  • Amy Q. Tang
  • Tanuj Vasudeva
  • Merrick Wang
  • Catherine W. Wu
  • Annie Xu
  • Jerry Zhang
  • Michael S. Zhang 

Contact:  Superintendent’s Office at 408-354-5980