LGUHSD Celebrate Nat. Merit Scholarship Semis

Los Gatos-Saratoga Union High Schools Celebrate National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists
Posted on 11/04/2022
National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Los Gatos, November 4, 2022: Los Gatos High School and Saratoga High School honored their National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists this fall after the names of over 16,000 Semifinalists were publicly announced as part of the 68th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The Los Gatos-Saratoga Union High School District (LGSUHSD) is proud to have 37 students who qualified for this prestigious honor. These students now have an opportunity to continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $28 million that will be offered next spring. 

Los Gatos and Saratoga High School Seniors entered the 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2021 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) as Juniors last school year. This test served as an initial screening of program entrants. The qualifying semifinalists typically represent less than one percent of US high school seniors in the state. For LGSUHSD, these students represent 1.2 percent of the graduating seniors.

Join us in congratulating and recognizing the following 2023 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists:

Stuti Agarwal, Saratoga HS

Pradyum Balaji, Saratoga HS

Sohum Bhan, Saratoga HS

Jordan Chan, Los Gatos HS

Arshi Chawla, Saratoga HS

Christopher Chen, Saratoga HS

Atrey Desai, Saratoga HS

Raza Faris, Los Gatos HS

Leah Freeman, Los Gatos HS

Lisa Fung, Saratoga HS

Arnav Garg, Saratoga HS

Isha Goswami, Saratoga HS

Ethan Holl, Los Gatos HS

Jeremy Holl, Los Gatos HS

Andrew Hong, Saratoga HS

Avni Hulyalkar, Los Gatos HS

Siddharth Kamannavar, Saratoga HS

Alexander Lee, Saratoga HS

Dyne Lee, Saratoga HS

Nidhi Mathihalli, Saratoga HS

Suraj Mehrotra, Saratoga HS

Nilay Mishra, Saratoga HS

Jacob Noymer, Los Gatos HS

Uma Phalke, Saratoga HS

Ainsley Sheen, Saratoga HS

Stanly Shen, Los Gatos HS

Howard Shu, Saratoga HS

Anthony Wang, Saratoga HS

Carolyn Wang, Saratoga HS

Vivian Wang, Saratoga HS

Anthony Wong, Saratoga HS

Mindy Wu, Saratoga HS

Adam Xu, Saratoga HS

Mayson Yu, Saratoga HS

Lily Zhang, Saratoga HS

Tony Zhou, Los Gatos HS

Nathan Zhu, Saratoga HS


Semifinalists have the opportunity to advance to the Finalist level by submitting a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, write an essay, earn SAT or ACT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test, and be endorsed and recommended by a high school teacher or administrator. 

To learn more about the National Merit Scholarship program and process, visit www.nationalmerit.org.